STAR FLEET BATTLES
BATTLE FORCE Q&A

STAR FLEET BATTLE FORCE
QUESTION AND ANSWER FILE
REVISED 1PM, 19 JULY, 2001

Q: When cards and the rulebook and/or the play aides are in conflict, which is right?
A: The cards are right, then the rulebook, then the play aids.
- - - - -
Q: Can plasma-Fs be fired at drones? The card has the triangle-D but the rules mention only S and R.
A: Plasma Fs can be fired at drones.
- - - - -
Q: Do inactive players get a new hand after the Organian ceasefire?
A: yes.
- - - - -
Q: Are you allowed to use more than one Wild Weasel to defend against an attack?
A: yes.
- - - - -
Q: Should planet-based fighters be Remaining Damage plus one (card) or two (rulebook) die rolls?
A: One die roll.
- - - - -
Q: Can you play both Planet-Based Fighter Cards in the same attack?
A: sure. (The rulebook says so.)
- - - - -
Q: Can you combine fighter strikes from two carriers?
A: No. (The rulebook says so.)
- - - - -
Q: Can you combine fighter strikes from a carrier with planet-based fighters?
A: No. (The rulebook says so.)
- - - - -
Q: Can you replace the "follow up attack" in the two-player version with a formation change?
A: Yes.
- - - - -
Q: Can you replace the "follow up attack" in the two-player game with a multiple discard and new draw?
A: No.
- - - - -
Q: If you play a reinforcement card, do you have to send the ship to your Reserve Squadron?
A: You do if you are using the formation rules. See Pages 16 and 17, which require this.
- - - - -
Q: Is the planet-based fighter card simply an attack card or does it join your battle force as a ship until it is destroyed?
A: It is an attack card. Use it once and then discard it.
- - - - -
Q: Isn't the PF card too powerful?
A: No. It's there as an equalizer so everybody knows that there is a magic toadstool out there which can kill even the biggest ship on a really good day.
- - - - -
Q: When you play the PF FLOTILLA card, do the other players get one attack or do they take their entire normal turn with any attack limited to the PFs?
A: As the rulebook says, they get to shoot once; they do not draw, discard, make formation changes, etc. It's a defensive shot, not a complete player turn.
- - - - -
Q: Can a player who is inactive (no ships in play) still draw from his Reserve Cards even though he cannot 'draw' from the Starbase deck?
A: Yes, he can draw his Reserve Action Cards at any time the rules allow a player to draw them.
- - - - -
Q: If I have no ships in my Screen or Main Body, can I keep the Reserve Ships in Reserve for as long as I want?
A: No. The rulebook says on page 17 that you have to send one ship forward to die (err.., into the battle) every time it is your turn and that this counts as your one formation change.
- - - - -
Q: Are the Hydrans in Battle Force?
A: No, but they are scheduled for the Deck 2 Expansion. Deck 2 will be playable by itself or could be shuffled with Deck 1 to make a huge game.
- - - - -
Q: Are the Lyrans in Battle Force?
A: Only on the PF Flotilla card, but their ships will be in Deck 2.
- - - - -
Q: When will Battle Force reach stores?
A: Probably about the end of July 2001.
- - - - -
Q: Do you get points for having ships left over at the end of the game (i.e.do I get 8 points added to my score if I am the last guy
with a ship left on the table and it is an 8 point ship)?
A: Yes: Page 18, how to win, item #2.
- - - - -
Q: If a Planet Based Fighter card takes 6pts of damage from defensive fire, is the card destroyed like the PF flotilla? Or would they simply do 1d6 +0 (remaining strength) damage?
A: The card is destroyer by six damage points just like a ship-based fighter squadron.
- - - - -
Q: Does the Defending Player have to play all of his defensive cards at once, or can the Attacker and Defender go back and forth playing cards?
A: They can go back and forth, but note that the only card the attacker can play after his initial attack is an ECCM card, and there are only two of them in the deck, or a tractor beam to stop a wild weasel, so the back and forth isn't going to last very long.
- - - - -
Q: How many people can play at once with a single copy of the game?
A: Six. If you use more than four, you need to use some of the optional rules (drawing cards immediately if you are out of cards, or a newly-proposed optional rule under which you can only attack the player to either side of your own place at the table) to avoid the "five guys shoot at one guy" syndrome.
- - - - -
Q: Does the Reinforce Shields (defense card) take effect after an attack is doubled by Overload or Gunner cards?
A: Yes, that is correct.
- - - - -
Q: A ship in the Main Body which uses a WW must move to the Screen. Does this take place immediately or in the next Formation Change step?
A: Immediately, and it does not count against the limit on formation changes.


Copyright © 1991-2014 Amarillo Design Bureau, All Rights Reserved Updated 29 November 2007