Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

In search of some advice...
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Itharus
Lieutenant SG

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2018 12:06 am    Post subject: In search of some advice... Reply with quote

Hi, all. It's been a long time since I've been around here...

That said, I have a question:

Do you think this game is playable, blind?

I've been losing vision for a couple of years now, and I'm not sure how much longer I've got to keep it; so I was curious if anyone has any experience with blind people playing this game.

I'm not generally an optimistic person, but I figured I may as well ask -- not in my nature to give anything up without a fight.

Thanks Smile
Itharus
Lieutenant SG

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sooo, I'm guessing not Sad
mjwest
Commodore

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, but I do not know if this has ever come up before.

Not being blind, nor having played against someone who is blind, I am not sure how to answer. Any board oriented game is highly visual, as much of the games information is designed to be taken in visually. It is not intuitive to just take two hex numbers and know their relationship to each other. (It can be learned, but must be done so deliberately.) There can be a lot of items on the board, and even people actually looking at the board can miss things. That all said, I imagine just about anything can be learned, if the desire and determination is there.