Federation Commander Forum Index Federation Commander
A NEW fast paced board game of starship combat!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Stinger Question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sebastian380
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 07 Mar 2013
Posts: 79
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 5:49 pm    Post subject: Stinger Question Reply with quote

Hello All,
Why are Stingers armed with 2 fusion beams? If the stinger can fire only one of these fusion beams per turn (5Q2b) and the fusion beam does not need to cool down between turns what is the point of having two of them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3498
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's just the way they work.

Originally, they were going to be allowed to fire both of them at the same time, but that proved a tad overpowering. So, the one-per-turn limit was instituted. So, really, they have two for historical reasons more than anything else.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DNordeen
Commander


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 532

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2013 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That, and you get 2 turns of firing before they need to be reloaded. Assuming they're still alive.
_________________
Speed is life; Patience is victory

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Steve Cole
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Oct 2006
Posts: 3095

PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2013 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right, the Stinger cannot reload its fusions so it has to land to get them reloaded.
_________________
The Guy Who Designed Fed Commander
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kang
Fleet Captain


Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 1967
Location: Devon, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2013 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The rules questions section in the Communique appears to partially contradict this (and the Rulebook and the ship cards); it says that they can only fire one shot each before having to land and reload.

This would only happen if the Stinger fired its fusions double-shotted. Otherwise each can fire twice.

Communique incorrect on this occasion?
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Maxwell Luther
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 10 Apr 2013
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kang wrote:
The rules questions section in the Communique appears to partially contradict this (and the Rulebook and the ship cards); it says that they can only fire one shot each before having to land and reload.

This would only happen if the Stinger fired its fusions double-shotted. Otherwise each can fire twice.

Communique incorrect on this occasion?


I'd assume that this was because the Communique is a testbed for the rules. I believe that particular one mentions that it was the last test of the Stingers before they went to print.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3498
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which Communique?
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sebastian380
Lieutenant JG


Joined: 07 Mar 2013
Posts: 79
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The latest, #89, in the Q/A section
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DNordeen
Commander


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 532

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2013 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm thinking it's an oops
_________________
Speed is life; Patience is victory

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mjwest
Commodore


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 3498
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2013 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, that should have been done a bit clearer.

You can fire your fusions until you run out of charges. You do need a ship to provide new charges, you can can fire as much as you want (within the other restrictions) until you run out of charges.
_________________

Federation Commander Answer Guy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Federation Commander Forum Index -> Rules Questions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group